In 1969, the State Government set up a Planning Committee comprising the following eminent academics, experienced University administrators and top ranking civil servants under the Chairmanship of the then Acting Secretary to the Military Government, Late Mr. I.O. Afe (Chairman), Mr. G.A. Aghahowa, Mr. O. Akpata, Mr. G. O. Aiwerioba, Mr. W.J. Anukpe, the Late Dr. B.I. Aror, Mr. P.C. Asiodu, Professor E.U. Emovon, Mr. G.N.I. Enobakhare, Mr. E. Buckley, Professor T. Bello-Osagie, Mr. M.I. Igiehon, Mr. F.A. Ijewere, Dr. A.E. Ikomi, Mr. J.O. Illuebbey, the Late Chief D.R. Oduaran, Mr. S.J. Okodu, Mr. G.W. Sutherland, Late Professor H. Oritsejolomi. Thomas and Professor T.M. Yesufu. The Committee was directed to examine the feasibility of establishing in Benin, a University with scientific and technological bias and submit proposals with estimated cost. In March 1970 the Committee submitted its report. After careful consideration, the State Government promulgated in April, 1970, an edict establishing an Institute of Technology with three Faculties, viz: Science, Engineering and Medicine and Pharmacy.

Ahmadu Bello University was approached to help the new Institute in several areas including the teaching of pre-clinical medical students for the first three years in Zaria. This academic co-operation between the Institute and Ahmadu Bello University gave a booster to the former.